Welcome to the Society for Invertebrate Pathology

Society for Invertebrate Pathology

Past Award Winners

Chris J. Lomer Travel Award Winners

More information on the award winners can be found in the SIP newsletter (usually the November or February edition). The newsletter is available online for SIP member.

2021 - No Award (Virtual SIP Meeting, No Travel Awards Given)

2020 - No Award (SIP Meeting Cancelled)

2019 - Anna Moldovan lecturer at the Department of Biology and Ecology, Faculty of Biology and Soil Science at Moldova State University, and scientific researcher at the Institute of Zoology, Republic of Moldova. "New Beauveria bassiana strain (Bals.-Criv.) Vuill., pathogenicity against weevil pests and physiological characterization"

2018 - No Award(Selected winners did not attend the meeting)

2017 - No Award

2016 - Dr. Waqas Wakil, University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, Pakistan (received his Chris Lomer Award for 2016 in 2017)

2016 - Senthil Kumar, Indian Institute of Spices Research (ICAR), Kerala, India

2015 - No Award

2014 - Dr. G.T. Gujar, Head Scientist with the Indian Council of Agricultural Research in New Delhi, India, "Evaluation of culture media for maximal growth, Cry toxin production and insecticidal toxicity of Bacillus thuringiensis"

2013 - No Award

2012 - Kadarkarai Murugan, Professor of Entomology, Bharathiar University, India. "Use of microbial insecticides for the control of fliarial vector Culex quinquefasciatus."

2011-Natalia Munteanu (Republic of Moldova), Ph.D. in Entomology, Moldova Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Moldova. "Three new strains of Bacillus thuringiensis as potential biocontrol agents against pest weevils in the Republic of Moldova".

2010 – Maissa Chakroun (Tunesia), M. Sc.. Ph.D. program Centre of Biotechnology of Sfax, Tunesia. “Study of the mode of action of Bacillus thuringiensis Vip3A toxins among Spodoptera exigua and identification of his specific receptors in this larva”.

2009 – Le Thi Thanh Thao (Vietnam) B.Sc., Cantho University in Vietnam. Ph.D. program Tokyo University and the Bach Ma National Park in Vietnam. “Characterization of a microsporidia isolated from Spodoptera litura and its relationship with a nucleopolyhedrovirus in Vietnam”.

2008 – Nicholas Pedrini (Argentina), Assistant Professor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, National University of La Plata. “Alkane degradation by Beauveria bassiana: gene expression analysis of cytochrome P450 monooxigenases.”

2007 – Monica Pava-Ripoll (Columbia), PhD candidate, Dept. of Entomology, University of Maryland. “Differential gene expression by Metarhizium anisopliae grown on plant root exudate.”

2006 – Drauzio Rangel (Brazil) PhD program, Utah State University. “Relationship of trehalose and polyol accumulations to increased conidial heat and UV-B tolerance in Metarhizium anisopliae conidia produed under sub-lethal stresses”.

Mauro Martignoni Student Award Winners

2021 - Hiroyuki Hikida, University of Tokyo. "bv/odv-e26 is required for virus-induced host behavioral manipulation in lepidopteran nucleopolyhedroviruses"

2020 - No Award (SIP Meeting Cancelled)

2019 - Gabriela Maciel-Vergara (the Netherlands), Wageningen University, The Netherlands and University of Copenhagen, Denmark. "A bacterial insect pathogen as a threat to cricket farming in East Africa"

2018 - Laurent Consentino (France), INRA, MICALIS and AgroParisTech. "Laser Capture Microdissection to study iron homeostasis gene expression in Bacillus cereus during Galleria mellonella midgut infection"

2017 - Yue Han, (The Netherlands), Wageningen University. "Timely trigger of zombie behaviour: the importance of light exposure timing in baculovirus-induced tree-top disease"

2016 - Julie Hopper, (USA) Univ. of California at Berkely

2015 - John G. McMullen II, (USA) University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ

2014 - Aurelien Chateigner, (France) University of Tours. "Genomic adaptation to different hosts – Impact of genetic diversity on viral fitness"

2013 - Scott W. Behie, (Canada) Brock University, Ontario.  “Ubiquity of insect-derived nitrogen transfer to plants by endophytic insect pathogenic fungi”

2012- Stineke van Houte, (Netherlands) Laboratory of Virology, Wageningen University. "Protein tyrosine phosphatase-induced hyperactivity is an evolutionarily conserved strategy of baculoviruses to manipulate lepidopteran host behavior".

2011 – Sebastian Gisder (Germany), Dissertation research conducted at Länderinstitut für Bienenkunde Hohen Neuendorf e.V., Friedrich- Engels-Str. 32, D-16540 Hohen Neuendorf "Nosema spp. goes cellular: the first cell culture model for a honey bee pathogen." More information on the award winners can be found in the SIP newsletter (usually the November or February edition).

2010 – Umut Toprak (Turkey), Dissertation research conducted at University of Saskatchewan, Canada. “Mamestra configurata nucleopolyhedrovirus enhancing substrate specificity and insect intestinal mucin structural types.”

2009 – Karolin Eberle (Germany), Dissertation research conducted at University Mainz and the DLR in Neustadt, Germany. “Novel CpGV isolates: Deciphering the molecular mechanism involved in overcoming CpGV resistance in codling moth”.

2008 – Konasale J. Anilkumar (India), Dissertation research conducted at Auburn University. “Laboratory selected Cry1Ac-resistant Helicoverpa zea (Lepidoptera: Noctuidae) cannot survive on Bt Cotton: Implication of potential synergistic interactions of Cry1Ac and gossypol”.

2007 – Jim McNeil (USA), Dissertation research conducted at Penn State University “Effects of developmental resistance on LdMNPV pathogenesis in gypsy moth.”

2006 – Onya Opota (France), Dissertation research conducted at University of Nice Sophia Antipolis. “Cellular mode of action of the Bacillus sphaericus binary toxin”

2005 – Chanitchote Detvisitsakun (Thailand), Dissertation research conducted at Kansas State University. “Stimulation of cell motility by a viral fibroblast growth factor homolog: Proposal for a role in viral pathogenesis”.

2004 – Luisa Elena Fernández-Altuna (Cuba); Dissertation research conducted at the National University of Mexico (UNAM). “Phage-display peptides that bind to the Cry11A toxin, or to the receptor, revealed an important role of domain II regions in receptor interaction and toxicity to Ae. aegypti.”.

2003 – Huarong Li (China); Dissertation research conducted at Kansas State University. “Resistance to Bacillus thuringiensis endotoxins in the European corn borer (Lepidoptera: Crambidae).”

2002 – Li Tan (China); Dissertation research conducted at Ohio State University. “Characterization of the mechanisms of pathogenicity of a nematode/symbiotic bacterium complex (Phasmarhabditis hermaphrodita/Moraxella osloensis) against slugs”.

2001 – Italo Delalibera (Brazil); Dissertation research conducted at Cornell University. “Long-term implementation of classical biological control using a mite pathogenic fungus in Africa: From exploration to detection of establishment”.

Early Career Award Winners
Year Awardee Name Institution Position held
at Time of Award


Patricia Golo

Federal Rural University
Rio de Janeiro (UFRRJ), Brazil



Jörg Wennmann

Institute for Biological Control
Darmstadt, Germany

Research Scientist


Gaelen Burke

Department of Entomology
University of Georgia, USA

Assistant Professor


Kelly Bateman

Centre for Environment,Fisheries and
Aquaculture Science (Cefas), UK

Invertebrate Pathologist


Vera Ros

Laboratory of Virology, Wageningen
University and Research, The Netherlands

Assistant Professor